Custody

This poem received a Highly Commended in the 2011 Julie Lewis Award For Poetry
Judges Comments: I loved this poem from the first reading. Simple, rhythmic, a poem with a social edge, not easy or common in Australia.
Kevin Gillam
October 2011

the car takes me
the car takes me back
my father drives me forward
my mother waits behind

the car takes me
the car takes me back
the seatbelt holds me safely
it is wide and black

I breathe in
I breathe out
the car takes me
the car will take me back

my father is in front
my mother far behind
my sister is beside me
we are safe inside

the car is on the bridge
my father is outside
my sister’s seatbelt
is black and wide

my father takes her
the car is on the bridge
the water is beneath
she is on the edge

the car keeps me

I breathe out
I breathe in
my sister can fly
but she cannot swim

the car takes me
she cannot swim
the car takes me

go back she cannot swim

the car takes me
the bridge breaks me

the car takes me

© Mikaela castledine 2011

About Mikaela

I am an artist and writer living in the Perth Hills
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Custody

  1. Moira says:

    yay! congratulations! X

Leave a Reply

