I WILL PLAY YOU

You can play me in the movie of my life
and I will play you
I will need a guitar double
and you will need red boots

You will have a knee length coat
I will have fake cigarettes
and in the breaks between the takes
I will smoke and you’ll hate the taste

You’ll have to dye your hair dark
and I will be blonde

All I did was fly 9 thousand miles
And all you did was be there where I landed
All you did was walk a winding path
And all I did was take what I was handed

You will be a method actor
you will study all my moves
I will learn your motivation
walk about inside your shoes

We will film it on location
we will close off all the streets
and we’ll banish all the extras
from that scene when we first meet

We will play the theme song with your fingers on the strings
And I will sing

But it in my head it all seemed like a screenplay
With my words already written in a script
The close ups and the long shots all out of sequence
And all the time the director yelling cut

I will probably win an Oscar
for my best supporting role
and you will get a nomination
but miss out by one vote

And you will say it doesn’t matter
you only do it for the art
and you’ll say you loved the challenge
of playing such a tricky part

I will cast you in the lead role
in the movie of my life

All I did was fly 9 thousand miles
And all you did was be there where I landed
All you did was walk a winding path
And all I did was take what I was handed

and I will be you
and I will be you
and I will be you
and I will be you

© Mikaela Castledine 2011

About Mikaela

I am an artist and writer living in the Perth Hills
This entry was posted in Lyrics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

