I Feel The Cold

I feel the cold like metal
does
like metal feels it
colder quicker
than wood or earth or stone
colder than the air that brings it

all the tiny atoms
stilling their vibrations
into a chimeless matrix

I feel the cold like that

and when heat is applied
it runs through like a current
from here to there
dissipates into the air
leaves me with nothing

put your cold hand
the one holding the book
onto thermal mass
of your inner thigh
and tell me
which do you feel
the warmth flowing into frozen flesh
or the burning five fingered brand

recoiling from your own self
I feel the cold like that

About Mikaela

I am an artist and writer living in the Perth Hills
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

