Blackboard

that piece of sky
is the colour of a blackboard
a chalky midnight grey
I can write the daily specials
in a dusty cursive

∗ caffeine arrhythmia
double shot

∗ hand harvested tears
house made

∗ a heart caramel
crack crack the hard surface
with the back of a spoon

∗ a salad of three greens
the first and last of which are jealousy

∗ seasonal fruit twice bitten
once shy and once for luck

then wipe it clean

that piece of sky
is the colour of the blackboard
where I rake my nails
my teeth are on edge
they are made of chalk

that piece of sky
is a blackboard
at night
I write
names of the naughty

but the light wipes it clean

and the banging of the dusters
as punishment or prize
rouses white clouds
and a sifting snow
on the toes
of my shoes

©Mikaela Castledine 2011

About Mikaela

I am an artist and writer living in the Perth Hills
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

