Vintage

 

The box is full of clothes

donations for my vintage sale

I open it

and there amongst the pinks

and blues and oranges

Karen appears

ta da

like a birthday surprise

I laugh and think how easy it is to recreate her

out of pure strong colour

all her fierce bright intelligence

her long streamers of experience

her talents tumbling out like heavy gold coins

the chiaroscuro intensity

contrasting light and dark

I marvel at how perfectly she has understood my request

the cupboard findings of past loved clothes

each with a story

and a parting pang

Her clothes are all the colours of real things

skies and flowers, earth and insect wings

I pull on an ochre dress

it is vintage Karen

and dance with her around the room

 

 

About Mikaela

I am an artist and writer living in the Perth Hills
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vintage

  1. Karen says:

    My overwhelming tears take the place of words to describe how I feel. A simple thank you is not enough, but it is not simple. Thank you Mikaela

Leave a Reply

