Scrabble

It is cyclone heavy
and the temperature hovers above the ground
like a mirage
I am lying under the fan
playing phone scrabble
with a stranger
but in this heat I have only vowels
Long rows of sighing ooouuu’s and aaaaa’s
C and K clink briefly in my glass
then melt away
G catches in the back of my throat
as I wake
disconcerted
and the phone slips from my fingers
Letters spin
in rising thermals
aaaaiiiiieeee
and it is far too hot for words

About Mikaela

I am an artist and writer living in the Perth Hills
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scrabble

  1. Moira says:

    It was too hot for anything! Are you watching SBS at 6.00 week days?

Leave a Reply

