Saving Up For Sweet

I could swallow up your talk

Your words so crisp and salty

Pepper cracked and biscuit snapped

Cellophaned or vacuum wrapped

Crumbs are falling at my feet

But I am saving up for sweet.

You want me to taste your words

Pitted brined and preserved

With your lies so chilli hot

And all your truths so bitter

But I will not feel their heat

Cause I am saving up for sweet

Citrus curling on my tongue

Lemon lime and sour

Discard the pith and grate the skin

No I will not take them in

Though you tempt me now to eat

Cause I am leaving room for sweet

Palette cleansing phrases sharp

You think your wit refreshing

But they sting on broken skin

And I will not take them in

Though you tempt me now to eat

Cause I am saving up for sweet

About Mikaela

I am an artist and writer living in the Perth Hills
This entry was posted in Lyrics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

