Refresh

My child is a cup

I hold him up to be filled

With rain water pure and clean

with liquid colour

and floating vapour trails of song

with summer and winter

with night

and the sugared almond pink of dawn

With music that spreads

and overflows the lip

and a surface tension of artistic impression

With a stirring of words

and the dissolving spice of tears

My child is a cup

a bowl

a perfect tiny lake

with lapping sound waves

and depth charges

and a mirror of the sky

I carry him before me

and hold him up to be filled

and when he is

beyond the strength of my arms

I will set him down

so careful not to spill or break

so careful not to drink

and I will watch the small birds

that come

to refresh themselves in him

About Mikaela

I am an artist and writer living in the Perth Hills
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

